• On the return trip from California, I chatted with my daughter who said, “Mom, you sound so happy and relaxed!”  My response:  That’s because I’ve just spent more than a month in the company of people who are my own age, unlike the people in my office who, with the exception of two, are young enough to be my children. 
  • After a few false starts, I’ve once again got a target retirement date.  I say target because the last two retirement plans were roundly scuttled by the failing economy and the falling Canadian dollar.  Those were times when only cold comfort could be taken from my philosophy: the Universe is unfolding as it should.  Hopefully this time will be different and when I attend my office’s 2011 Christmas Party it will be for the last time in my capacity as a colleague; and realistically, with the pace of change being so rapid, perhaps for the last time ever.  By Christmas 2012 there will likely be staff to whom I will be but a legend; if not completely unknown.
  • But – that is down the road and this morning the sun is up, day is on and there’s pre-retirement action to be taken!  Today I start the interviews to hire an Assistant Manager who, it is hoped will start taking over some of my responsibilities and be worked into my job, even if only as a transition.  These interviews are so exciting – for me!  I’m sure I’m as anxious as any of the candidates.  It makes me shudder to think of all the older workers I know who can’t bring themselves to let go of their jobs and who think the incoming person must do things exactly as they do, both now and in the future.
  • There’s an old one-line joke my kids used to tell:  “Get off the stove, Gramma, you’re too old to ride the range!”   Well, not this cowgirl!  Yee haw and hallelujah:  I can’t wait to hand over the reins!